The Student parliament elected a new president, board and audit commission of VMU SC

On March 12 at the regular reporting and election conference of Vytautas Magnus University Student Council (VMU SC) the 2020–2021 operational and financial reports of the organization were approved and the new president, audit commission and board of VMU SC were elected.

The conference was opened with greeting words by president of VMU SC Paulius Vaitiekus, VMU rector prof. Juozas Augutis and director of the Student affairs department Mantas Simanavičius. Vilnius Gediminas Technical University (VGTU SA) Alumni Dominykas Tvaska was unanimously elected the chairman of the conference and Matas Čepurna, the office administrator of VMU SC, was elected as the secretary.

The first question on the agenda regarding the formation of a work group for VMU SC direct presidential elections was resolved without longer discussions. It was decided to convene a working group that will analyze this question and will present its suggestions to the Student parliament.

The president of VMU SC P. Vaitiekus presented activity and financial reports of the organization for 2020–2021. The audit commission presented performance and financial assessment of VMU SC. After the questions and answers session the activity, financial and audit commission reports were approved.

The Student parliament heard the candidates for the presidential post to VMU SC presentations and were able to ask questions. This year, two candidates applied for the position of the organization‘s leader – Žygimantas Menčenkovas and Ieva Vengrovskaja.

8 persons/people applied for the board of VMU SC:

Daniel Mačichin, Erika Sinkevičiūtė, Gustė Žukauskaitė, Gintarė Jurelytė, Martynas Vitkus, Solveiga Skaisgirytė, Tadas Petrulis ir Laurynas Samajauskas. For the audit commission Rytis Sidarevičius, Aleksas Vilkas, Aistė Bielevičiūtė, Greta Šmaižytė, Gabrielė Rimaitė, Santa Vozbutaitė, Gabrielė Jonuškaitė ir Vaida Eirošiūtė raised their candidacies.

The Student parliament elected Ieva Vengrovskaja as the new president of VMU SC. She received 38 votes (Žygimantas Menčenkovas received 11 votes).

D. Mačichin, G. Žukauskaitė, G. Jurelytė, M. Vitkus, S. Skaisgirytė ir L. Samajauskas were elected to the board of VMU SA. To the audit commission – G. Šmaižytė, R. Sidarevičius, A. Vilkas, S. Vozbutaitė, V. Eirošiūtė.

At the end of the conference Martynas Butkus, a member of parliament, presented a resolution regarding the state-supported loan model. It was decided that members of parliament will become familiar with the document after the conference and give their views/opinions on it.


Skip to content